Life’s a Bitch and Then You Die

I’ve been hearing a lot about death these days.

The other day, my college roommate told me he was coming back to the LA area for a few days. When I asked him what for, he told me that he and his wife are coming back to attend his wife’s grandfather’s funeral.

He suffered a stroke while driving which led to a fatal car accident.

A few weeks ago, I called a close friend of mine at noon on a Thursday. I was driving through Culver City and I wanted to see if he wanted to grab lunch. When he picked up the phone, he told me that he couldn’t because he was back in Orange County with his family.

His family discovered that his mom had a malignant tumor on her pancreas and that she needed to go to surgery as soon as possible.

The other day, another college roommate mentioned that it’s been ten years since his father passed away.

He died of cancer. The roommate and I were in our early twenties when he passed.

Last night, I was browsing through the Internet and came across an article by Brandon Huffman, a sportswriter who covers West Coast college athletics.

He and his wife discovered that their 6-year-old daughter Avery has a brain tumor that is inoperable.


I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m always left speechless when I hear about shit like this.

Emily frequently says that I can be very unresponsive at times to things she says. This, by the way, is the only resemblance I have to Don Draper.

But it’s true – I have no idea how to react sometimes, especially in matters of mortality.

Now that I’m in my thirties, I realize that our bodies eventually start to wear down, and eventually, deteriorate.

At the same time, hearing about little Avery just makes things look even more fucked up.

A song came into my head. Nas’s Life’s a Bitch:

I’m not the most well-versed hip-hop head, but even I can recognize that Illmatic is an all-time classic.

I also remembered a Reddit post from a user who had a terminal illness. I was moved and inspired by the words this user posted. I go back to read this post every once in a while to remind myself that you never know when you’re gonna go.

I know that there’s a big emphasis in our society to save money for retirement. We need to purchase a home in our twenties so that by the time we enter our fifties, the house is paid for.

But I also know that the future is promised for no one. In my opinion, we overvalue money too much while undervaluing time. Like I’ve written previously, time should be viewed as currency.

I think the point is this – do what you want to do, but have no regrets. Are we going to look back at our lives and be glad, or will we think about all the things we could have done during our time here?

No one can make our lives fulfilling but ourselves. In this world, good things and bad things happen to all of us. There’s no rhyme or reason when it comes to mortality. Like 2pac says, life goes on, so we might as well make the most of it.

– Chris.

4 comments

  1. This is so true. I heard a guy say last night we are born and we die. The only thing in between is the dash. Have memorable moments in those dashes. I’m so sorry for your friends and I will add them to my prayer list.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think about this topic a lot. I agree that we should value our time above money. Money comes and goes, but time stops for no one. Spending your life working to enjoy your “last days” seems illogical.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Man, I’ve been thinking about this so heavily lately. I want to just exist for a while instead of always trying to harp on what I could have or should have done differently. Or even on what I should or could do to make for a better future. What is the point in living if all I’m ever doing is preparing to live?

    Like

Leave a Reply

