Staring At Menus

On Saturday, Emily and I did the dishes four times that day.

We also took out the trash four times.

Laundry is also never-ending. As soon as we fold up and put away a clean batch of clothes, there’s another batch that needs to be washed. The piles are meshing together. It’s only a matter of time until I put on a dirty pair of boxers by mistake.

Dishes. Trash. Laundry. All day, everyday.


I love Del Taco.

Apparently, this fast food chain only resides in certain states. It’s the better version of Taco Bell.

As much as I love this place, I do encounter a problem with it from time to time. I see the menu and there’s so many damn options.

I imagine a hot chick has a similar problem: she has so many suitors that she ends up staying single. I don’t know what to order sometimes, and it bugs the shit out of me.


There is clearly a problem with abundance.

Why does the world hate America so much? Because they see us crying about how we’re eating too much, that we’re always buying new clothes, and that we celebrate the wealthy and vain, elevating their status to reality TV star.

Why am I always doing dishes, taking out the trash, and doing laundry? Probably because there’s so much goddamn food in my fridge, so much shit in my house, and too much clothes in my closet.

I live in a three-bedroom condo with two empty rooms. That kind of sums it up right there.

Do we really want choices? Do we want to eat at a place like Del Taco where you can get a taco, burrito, quesadilla, burger, or nachos; or do we want to eat at a place like In N Out Burger where there’s only three things on the menu?


 

We just don’t know what we want.

As a kid, I never really knew what I wanted to be when I grew up.

At restaurants, I hardly ever know what I want to order.

I’ll spend an unreasonably long time searching Netflix for something to watch because I simply have no idea.

Abundance and choices are inherently good things, but most of us are too dumb to take advantage of them.

I’m going to make a list. I’ll write down what I want and what I need in life. Maybe this will help me to stop staring at menus so much.

– Chris.

 

 

3 comments

  1. First, I HATE doing laundry. It’s the most depressing part of being an adult. Second, I competely agree that we value stuff too much in America. We value quantity too much. Many times I wonder why I feel the need to acquire so many things when they will mean nothing when I die. Kinda morbid, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

